Login or Register
 Home
 Communication
 Comments
 Forums
 Calendar
 Messages
 Recommend Us
 Shout Box
 News
 Submit News
 Stories Archive
 Surveys
 Topics
 Site Info
 Donations
 Feeds
 Legal
 Members List
 Member Map
 Search
 Sitemap
 Statistics
 Top 25
 Links
 Top A&A Sites

 WW2 History
 WW2 Archives
 WW2 Propaganda
 WW2 Discussion
 WW2 Arsenal
 Military Tactics
 Military Tactics
 Advancing
 Retreating
 Flanking Maneuver
 Pincer Movement
 Feint
 Rotating your Forces
 Blitzkrieg
 Breakthru
 Leapfrogging
 Divide and Conquer
 Center Peel
 Infiltration
 Encirclement
 Breakout
 Bait and Bleed
 Fabian Strategy

 Reference Guide
 The Basics
 A&A Encyclopedia
 Basic Strategy
 Cities
 Economy
 Oil and Ammo
 Terrain
 Display/Control
 Keyboard Shortcuts
 Mouse Control
 Recommended Settings
 Infantry
 Infantry
 Recon Infantry
 Regular Infantry
 Mortar Infantry
 Anti Tank Infantry
 Engineer Infantry
 Sniper Infantry
 Commando Infantry
 Conscript Infantry
 Assault Infantry
 Goliath Infantry
 Heavy Infantry
 Banzai Infantry
 Flamethrower Infantry
 Airborne
 Airborne HQ
 Heavy Airborne
 SaS Paratroopers
 Banzai Airborne
 Mech
 Mechanized HQ
 Halftracks
 Artillery Halftracks
 Anti Tank Halftracks
 Rocket Trucks
 Armor
 Armor
 Light Tanks
 Medium Tanks
 Heavy Tanks
 Artillery Tanks
 Anti Air Tanks
 Flame Tanks
 King Tiger Tanks
 Tankettes
 Rocket Tanks
 Airpower
 Airpower
 Special Ops
 Special Ops
 Upgrades
 Upgrades
 Infantry Upgrades
 AT Mech Upgrades
 Arty Mech Upgrades
 Armor Upgrades
 Arty Tank Upgrades
 Upgrades to Skip
 List of All Upgrades
 Generals
 Generals
 Germany
 Rommel
 Rundstedt
 Kesselring
 Manstein
 Great Britian
 Montgomery
 Mountbatten
 Wavell
 Wingate
 Japan
 Yamamoto
 Kuribayashi
 Mikawa
 Nagumo
 Russia
 Chuikov
 Konev
 Zhukov
 Rokossovski
 United States
 Arnold
 Eisenhower
 Nimitz
 Patton
Admin
Be Respectful - No Anger or Hostility, Thats What The Gamespy Lobby is For
21-08-2007 9:13:pm
CoffeePrince
A&A is already supported by gameranger. Were inviting more players to join in there to make the game group a lot bigger. If your interested pls pm me here to get more details for game matches thanks and have a nice day fellow generals
13-04-2014 11:23:am
Montgomery1
By good luck I found this site just before getting the game.
24-08-2011 8:10:pm
Schwieger
Glad I found this
29-07-2011 9:17:pm
WW2Freak
Dude i love the game and now a member of the website i know a lot of u guys and my other profiles on it at [Iowa]DrugMonkey, ww2freak ,and bugs bunny
07-06-2011 3:35:pm
jcrfd
Amazing information and insight of the game, thanks so much for making a wonderful source for such an awesome game like Axis & Allies..
28-05-2011 12:02:pm
penguinlover7
Awesome site! It's chock full of great A&A info! I'm so glad I found an A&A community to become a part of.
12-03-2011 5:49:pm
OwNVictoryHour
Yep Lets Get This Site and Game to new people.
27-02-2011 1:20:pm
bucs1888
We need to start advertising the game on google or somethin
23-02-2011 8:32:pm
bucs1888
This site is great i never knew about it at first
22-01-2011 11:13:pm
Only registered users can shout. Please login or create an account.
Shout History | ShoutBox ©

WEAPONS of WWII
[ WEAPONS of WWII ]

· Mitsubishi A6M Zero
· B-17 Flying Fortress
· MG42 - Maschinengewehr 42
· The Browning M1919
· Te-Ke Tankette

AXIS-AND-ALLIES.COM: Forums


View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:19 pm Reply with quote Back to top

So I've been playing A&A off-and-on for the last six years. Of course, after a while, the vanilla game gets a little boring...and I suddenly find myself with a lot more free time on my hands (curse this economy, it's making me play A&A). So I started looking around to see if I could mod my game - and lo and behold! I found you guys. Now, I was just lurking at first, but a specific circumstance forced me to actually participate. *gasp* That specific circumstance? I cannot, for the life of me, find v2.0 of the RWD extractor online. I found the first version just fine, but it doesn't work for A&A RWD files. So...does anyone know where I can find this elusive piece of software...either that, or provide me with already-extracted files so I can go bounce around by myself?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:01 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Nice to see a fresh face around here.

Use this: http://kohan.chimaerica.com/dload.php?action=file&file_id=237

It says its for another game, but it works fine for this one as well.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:14 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Huh, that's the one I tried using in the first place. Keeps giving an integer out-of-range error whenever I try using it.

EDIT: Yup, same one still giving me integer out-of-range. I wonder if it's because I have to run all of this in compatibility mode...
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 2:16 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Well, I tried it again and it works fine for me.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 2:20 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Yeah, I'm guessing it's something to do with my system. Unless you're running Windows 7 x64. I can play the game just fine in compatibility mode; it's the utility that hates me.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 2:29 pm Reply with quote Back to top

SilentWynter wrote:
Yeah, I'm guessing it's something to do with my system. Unless you're running Windows 7 x64. I can play the game just fine in compatibility mode; it's the utility that hates me.


I'm still on xp, so that is probably the problem. The game wasn't designed for anything newer, methinks.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:25 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Aha! But nevertheless, through madd hacking skillz...or rather, simply tweaking some compatibility settings Rolling Eyes...I got it to work. Of course, now I have a bunch of extracted files and no idea where to go. Laughing I'm guessing the RWD is similar to EA's BIG file - just a giant compressed file where you stick everything else, and all these others are basic text files with classes and definitions?

Regardless of the answer to that question, where do you define

Code:

IDS = ger_hq_armor
name = "#ger_hq_armor_Thing_name"
editor_name = "#ger_hq_armor_Thing_editor_name"


? Is there a specific file where you define the #name? Or is it generic?

Also, what's the max number of attachments the HQ UI can display?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:17 pm Reply with quote Back to top

SilentWynter wrote:
Aha! But nevertheless, through madd hacking skillz...or rather, simply tweaking some compatibility settings Rolling Eyes...I got it to work. Of course, now I have a bunch of extracted files and no idea where to go. Laughing I'm guessing the RWD is similar to EA's BIG file - just a giant compressed file where you stick everything else, and all these others are basic text files with classes and definitions?

Regardless of the answer to that question, where do you define

Code:

IDS = ger_hq_armor
name = "#ger_hq_armor_Thing_name"
editor_name = "#ger_hq_armor_Thing_editor_name"


? Is there a specific file where you define the #name? Or is it generic?

Also, what's the max number of attachments the HQ UI can display?


The actual names are in data/localization in the strings_data_AA.tgi.

However, if you want to change the name, there is a shortcut. Simply put whatever you want in the "" without the # and i will work.

6 is max.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:55 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Oh, so it's just a regular-old string. That's helpful.

Also, where do you change the max building limit? I found

Code:
EconomyLimitedResourceMax


in SVars_AA.tgi, but...it doesn't change the building limit; just the unit limit.

EDIT: or I can just go around and turn all the

Code:
building_limit_consumed


to 0.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 5:34 pm Reply with quote Back to top

SilentWynter wrote:
Oh, so it's just a regular-old string. That's helpful.

Also, where do you change the max building limit? I found

Code:
EconomyLimitedResourceMax


in SVars_AA.tgi, but...it doesn't change the building limit; just the unit limit.

EDIT: or I can just go around and turn all the

Code:
building_limit_consumed


to 0.


I never figured it out myself. Gizmotron might know.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
Gizmotron
 


Joined: May 10, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 20832
Posts: 583

Badges 19/80 Level 058
Badges 19/80 Level 058

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:34 pm Reply with quote Back to top

knew it was possible-- but didn't figure out how to do it until this week.

Axis & Allies/Special/Things/thing_start_location.tgi

I've changed it to 40 buildings as the limit.

I haven't been able to get the regiment limit over 180-- so this seems like a good place to leave off. it allows for the 30 new divisional emblems for each nation to be used-- and it still allows the player to have all of the tech buildings and airfields left over.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:42 am Reply with quote Back to top

Cool, thanks for the tip.

Another question - and this one's a bit more technically painful - modelling. Is there any way to create custom models and then custom units with said models?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 7:48 am Reply with quote Back to top

SilentWynter wrote:
Cool, thanks for the tip.

Another question - and this one's a bit more technically painful - modelling. Is there any way to create custom models and then custom units with said models?


Nifscope, which is free. Gizmotron and I have been using it extensively. It allows only for editing of preexisting units, though. Unless you know 3d modelling, its there really aren't any other options.

Thanks Gizmotron for the tip about the buildings. I had given up on that.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 4:36 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Yeah, I started hunting around last night and found Nifskope. Handy little tool. Unless I'm very much mistaken, it has an option for importing .OBJ files...so theoretically you could model something in, say, Maya/Blender and then import it as .OBJ into Nifskope to create custom models. I'll have to look into that a bit more.

I was surprised at how easy it was to create new units with the edited models.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 4:46 pm Reply with quote Back to top

If you know blender or another 3d program it is easy. I can't make heads and tails of that thing, though, so I'm stuck with nifscope.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 5:42 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I can edit existing models fairly easily. I have a MUCH harder time making stuff from scratch.

Maybe I should start practicing. Lol.

Oh, guess what - I have another question. Is there anywhere to define constants?

Code:
#define gbr_infantry_hq_cost = 600


...or something like that? I'd love to not have to go through every single file every time I want to change costs...
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:41 am Reply with quote Back to top

We modders try to stick with the how the devs originally did the game.

For costs, most units/buildings have a few lines like this:

[EconomyComponent]
{
[Cost]
money = 25

[Production]

[Upkeep]
ammo = 3
}

This defines cost. If you put the money=25 under production, the unit/strucutre will make money. Upkeep is how much ammo/oil the unit takes from your ammo/oil pool.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 11:09 am Reply with quote Back to top

I know about those parts of the building files, but I wanted to be able to define a set of constants in one single file to make balancing easier. It's a lot harder when you have to edit 60 entries in 60 individual files, rather than 60 entries in one file. I'm gonna look into it.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
Gizmotron
 


Joined: May 10, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 20832
Posts: 583

Badges 19/80 Level 058
Badges 19/80 Level 058

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:21 pm Reply with quote Back to top

for some reason that's how they built the game-- you really do have to tinker with over 100 files to make those sort of changes to the economic balance of the game. it's part of the reason why I haven't gone out of my way to change the economic aspects of the game.

I would strongly advise removing ammo depots and oil depots from the building consumption list. there's a couple of reasons.

1. you can deploy more HQs for a stronger economy and larger fighting force. this doesn't seem like a big deal until you realize that there are some games where you've only got infantry and the other guy has mech, armor, and airpower! you'll need odds of 3-to-1 in your favor just to have a shot at winning.

2. the AI never seems to build supply depots as a way of building their economy. I mean that they NEVER do this. human players do this all the time-- and it gives them an unfair advantage over a long game.

3. when you've got half the map smothered in supply depots to strength your economy-- well, something about that seems really strange!

so rather than trying to reprogram the AI to spam supply depots-- I decided to remove ammo and oil depots from the building limt.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:09 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I like your idea concerning the depots:)
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:11 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Yeah, I actually already did remove the building consumption from depots. Also removed it from Arty Brigade, Engineer Brigade, and Motor Pool. I want the focus to be more on unit creation.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
Gizmotron
 


Joined: May 10, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 20832
Posts: 583

Badges 19/80 Level 058
Badges 19/80 Level 058

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 5:07 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I've boosted the economic benefits of factories and refineries precisely so that the player is less dependent on spamming depots.

just finished the Imperial Japanese Army Airfield (the reskinned Bf109 makes for a nice-looking Ki-61 'Tony')
also finished the Marine Corps Airfield that uses the Corsair instead of the P-51

made a series of new terrain modifiers-- it always bugged me that vehicles could plow through swampy terrain as though they were driving on pavement. I changed it so that vehicles now have a severe speed penalty, lose 3 points of defense value, and have a 50% reduction in resistances to gunfire and piercing damage. infantry, by turn, have the same benefits and penalties of jungle terrain applied to them.

going to be working on new SS Armored and Mechanized HQs later this week (using theharkonnen's units)

since the new swamp modifiers worked out nicely-- I'd like to add a new type of terrain: mud. where all vehicles would suffer penalties. I've also noticed that there are certain types of terrain where you can't deploy structures... so I think it would be interesting if muddy terrain would defy setting up HQs, brigades, and depots.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:23 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Anyone know where the code is to make it so that the Axis Powers have to capture all three Allied capitals in the WWII/Risk-Game mode?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
Gizmotron
 


Joined: May 10, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 20832
Posts: 583

Badges 19/80 Level 058
Badges 19/80 Level 058

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:12 pm Reply with quote Back to top

it's been a long time since I changed that-- but the "MetaGame" is the folder that controls the WW2 map. I think it's in the mg_campaigns.tgi file.

part of the reason I use a hex-editor is it makes searching for known variables much easier.

you want to change the lines regarding capital captures from 2 to 3 for the axis nations.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
SilentWynter
 


Joined: Jun 14, 2012
Last Seen: Jun 26, 2012
Hits Total: 310
Posts: 16

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet


PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:38 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Damn, it's the same number for both. I can't set it higher without breaking something.

Well, how about regiment formations? Any way to add specific slots (front/support/captain are the default slots, I want to add skirmishers far out on the edges).

Oh, and I already found the stuff in Organizations >> Layouts. I just can't figure out how to make it translate into new slots for the infantry regiments themselves.

Also...tried hand at making a passable Centurion Mk I. Thoughts?

Image
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2008 phpBB Group
:: Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Ported for PHP-Nuke by nukemods.com ::
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Forums ©
(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.09 Seconds

You can syndicate our news using the file backend.php

Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


All logos, trademarks, and GNU Free Documentation in this site are property of their respective owner(s). www.axis-and-allies.com is an independently run community site for the Axis and Allies RTS, and is not affiliated with Atari, Timegate, Gamespy, or Encore Entertainment. Axis & Allies © 2006 Encore Software, Inc. All rights reserved. AXIS & ALLIES is a registered trademark of Hasbro, Inc. GameSpy and the "Powered by GameSpy" design are trademarks of GameSpy Industries, Inc. All rights reserved. GameSpy Arcade is an independent gaming service run by GameSpy. TimeGate Studios and the TimeGate Studios logo are trademarks of TimeGate Studios, Inc. Any comments and forum posts are property of their posters, all the rest ©2007- by www.axis-and-allies.com


:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::