Login or Register
 Home
 Communication
 Comments
 Forums
 Calendar
 Messages
 Recommend Us
 Shout Box
 News
 Submit News
 Stories Archive
 Surveys
 Topics
 Site Info
 Donations
 Feeds
 Legal
 Members List
 Member Map
 Search
 Sitemap
 Statistics
 Top 25
 Links
 Top A&A Sites

 WW2 History
 WW2 Archives
 WW2 Propaganda
 WW2 Discussion
 WW2 Arsenal
 Military Tactics
 Military Tactics
 Advancing
 Retreating
 Flanking Maneuver
 Pincer Movement
 Feint
 Rotating your Forces
 Blitzkrieg
 Breakthru
 Leapfrogging
 Divide and Conquer
 Center Peel
 Infiltration
 Encirclement
 Breakout
 Bait and Bleed
 Fabian Strategy

 Reference Guide
 The Basics
 A&A Encyclopedia
 Basic Strategy
 Cities
 Economy
 Oil and Ammo
 Terrain
 Display/Control
 Keyboard Shortcuts
 Mouse Control
 Recommended Settings
 Infantry
 Infantry
 Recon Infantry
 Regular Infantry
 Mortar Infantry
 Anti Tank Infantry
 Engineer Infantry
 Sniper Infantry
 Commando Infantry
 Conscript Infantry
 Assault Infantry
 Goliath Infantry
 Heavy Infantry
 Banzai Infantry
 Flamethrower Infantry
 Airborne
 Airborne HQ
 Heavy Airborne
 SaS Paratroopers
 Banzai Airborne
 Mech
 Mechanized HQ
 Halftracks
 Artillery Halftracks
 Anti Tank Halftracks
 Rocket Trucks
 Armor
 Armor
 Light Tanks
 Medium Tanks
 Heavy Tanks
 Artillery Tanks
 Anti Air Tanks
 Flame Tanks
 King Tiger Tanks
 Tankettes
 Rocket Tanks
 Airpower
 Airpower
 Special Ops
 Special Ops
 Upgrades
 Upgrades
 Infantry Upgrades
 AT Mech Upgrades
 Arty Mech Upgrades
 Armor Upgrades
 Arty Tank Upgrades
 Upgrades to Skip
 List of All Upgrades
 Generals
 Generals
 Germany
 Rommel
 Rundstedt
 Kesselring
 Manstein
 Great Britian
 Montgomery
 Mountbatten
 Wavell
 Wingate
 Japan
 Yamamoto
 Kuribayashi
 Mikawa
 Nagumo
 Russia
 Chuikov
 Konev
 Zhukov
 Rokossovski
 United States
 Arnold
 Eisenhower
 Nimitz
 Patton
Admin
Be Respectful - No Anger or Hostility, Thats What The Gamespy Lobby is For
21-08-2007 9:13:pm
CoffeePrince
A&A is already supported by gameranger. Were inviting more players to join in there to make the game group a lot bigger. If your interested pls pm me here to get more details for game matches thanks and have a nice day fellow generals
13-04-2014 11:23:am
Montgomery1
By good luck I found this site just before getting the game.
24-08-2011 8:10:pm
Schwieger
Glad I found this
29-07-2011 9:17:pm
WW2Freak
Dude i love the game and now a member of the website i know a lot of u guys and my other profiles on it at [Iowa]DrugMonkey, ww2freak ,and bugs bunny
07-06-2011 3:35:pm
jcrfd
Amazing information and insight of the game, thanks so much for making a wonderful source for such an awesome game like Axis & Allies..
28-05-2011 12:02:pm
penguinlover7
Awesome site! It's chock full of great A&A info! I'm so glad I found an A&A community to become a part of.
12-03-2011 5:49:pm
OwNVictoryHour
Yep Lets Get This Site and Game to new people.
27-02-2011 1:20:pm
bucs1888
We need to start advertising the game on google or somethin
23-02-2011 8:32:pm
bucs1888
This site is great i never knew about it at first
22-01-2011 11:13:pm
Only registered users can shout. Please login or create an account.
Shout History | ShoutBox ©

SETTINGS and CONTROLS
[ SETTINGS and CONTROLS ]

· Noob Tip: How to Hotkey a Group of Regiments
· Recommended Basic Gameplay Settings
· Keyboard Shortcuts
· The Regiment Info Icon

AXIS-AND-ALLIES.COM: Forums


View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:30 am Reply with quote Back to top

I seem to have hit a brick wall when it comes to modding certain things.

1. Where is the file that controls the amount of regiments a HQ can handle?

2. Where is the unique ui for each faction (Ex. the red star in the middle of the Russian control panel)?

3. I found the template modifer that tells all available upgrade types. However is this all of them? There some to be some big modifiers missing like area of effect and morale damage.

4. Any engine limits I should know about? Is there a number of limits for upgrades for example?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
OwNVictoryHour
 


Joined: Oct 26, 2009
Last Seen: Mar 17, 2013
Hits Total: 1646
Posts: 107
Location: CO
Badges 04/80 Level 013
Badges 04/80 Level 013

Last Shout: Yep Lets Get This Site and Game to new people.



PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:55 pm Reply with quote Back to top

No Limits for upgrades unless you set it. Everything else like in other posts is completely experimental.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:06 am Reply with quote Back to top

OwNVictoryHour wrote:
No Limits for upgrades unless you set it. Everything else like in other posts is completely experimental.


So I take it no one knows then.

No unit limits either I take it then?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
OwNVictoryHour
 


Joined: Oct 26, 2009
Last Seen: Mar 17, 2013
Hits Total: 1646
Posts: 107
Location: CO
Badges 04/80 Level 013
Badges 04/80 Level 013

Last Shout: Yep Lets Get This Site and Game to new people.



PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:29 pm Reply with quote Back to top

In editor, you can just place 50 unit regiments if u want and make like 35 tents to support them, but if u loose 1, it dies. Try seeing if someone has maxwells caravan. Biggest map with triggers iv ever seen made by someone. Sadly i don't have it anymore. Apologies.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
MaxxCombat
 


Joined: Jan 02, 2012
Last Seen: Jan 29, 2012
Hits Total: 648
Posts: 19

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:52 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I have Maxwell's Caravan map! My Axis and Allies name is *PHZ*|$nip3rAc3, so if you see me add me and tell me you want the map. It's a great one!
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 9:14 am Reply with quote Back to top

I was actually talking about any limits for adding totally new regiments, not via the editor, but this information is good to know.

I was planning to fill the game with as many units I could think of (Waffen SS, SS tank divisions, Spetsnaz, a bunch of airborne versions of stuff). I already did a few of these, but I was just wondeirng if the limits are defined via the buildings (Until you can't add anymore).

I also did a bunch of new upgrades and now my mod is looking like the cancelled art of war mod, except no new factions (I would add China and Italy, but because of my lack of modellling ability, units would be the seen in other factions as well).
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
MaxxCombat
 


Joined: Jan 02, 2012
Last Seen: Jan 29, 2012
Hits Total: 648
Posts: 19

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:09 am Reply with quote Back to top

When I try to use the rwd extractor, no rwd files show up under A&A data. what do i need to do?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
OwNVictoryHour
 


Joined: Oct 26, 2009
Last Seen: Mar 17, 2013
Hits Total: 1646
Posts: 107
Location: CO
Badges 04/80 Level 013
Badges 04/80 Level 013

Last Shout: Yep Lets Get This Site and Game to new people.



PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:19 am Reply with quote Back to top

Another extractor possibly? BTW the Maxwells caravan is filled with triggers, beyond my level. Might help with making custom maps. Ya, my name there is VictoryHour.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
MaxxCombat
 


Joined: Jan 02, 2012
Last Seen: Jan 29, 2012
Hits Total: 648
Posts: 19

Badges 01/80 Level 002
Badges 01/80 Level 002

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:33 am Reply with quote Back to top

I can't find any rwd extractors. Any websites to look for? The spotter's guide one doesn't work to download.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 9:06 am Reply with quote Back to top

MaxxCombat wrote:
I can't find any rwd extractors. Any websites to look for? The spotter's guide one doesn't work to download.


And I just downloaded it at the beginning of the week. Unfortunately I deleted it after I used it, else I would have sent it to you.

I just found this one though

http://kohan.chimaerica.com/dload.php?action=file&file_id=237

I tried it and you have to manually set the game location (Since its looking for another game), but it extracts just fine.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
Gizmotron
 


Joined: May 10, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 20832
Posts: 583

Badges 19/80 Level 058
Badges 19/80 Level 058

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 8:33 pm Reply with quote Back to top

you could make hundreds of variant regiments-- the problem is, you need to be able to attach them to HQs.

You can't recruit more than 11 different regimental types from any given building. There are only 12 buttons on the recruitment interface. One of these buttons will always be occupied by the cancel button.

that being said, there is no upper limit to the variety of regiments you can -attach- to an HQ. I've got a half-dozen Marine based regiments that I only deploy from battleships-- but once they hit the shore I attach them to a regular infantry HQ with no problems at all.

When it comes to the Waffen SS, I think it makes more sense to create new versions of the HQ tents and recruit the regiments from there. They were supposed to be distinct from the regular army-- and that way you can still keep more options open for the regular army.

I've already looked into making airborne tanks (cuz the Brits used them) but that's where it can get tricky, lol. first time I tried it I saw track prints on the sky! and once the vehicles landed they were invisible! Rolling Eyes
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
Gizmotron
 


Joined: May 10, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 20832
Posts: 583

Badges 19/80 Level 058
Badges 19/80 Level 058

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 9:48 pm Reply with quote Back to top

my guess on regiments attached to a building is that it probably can't be higher than 8. unlike the recruitment interface, there just isn't that much room on the central control panel to jam a lot of regiments in there. you could probably jam in 8 slots before you ran into the Regimental Icon: the thing that tells you about the morale and efficiency of each regiment.

in order to overcome that limit you would have to redesign the entire control interface of the game by making all of the icons smaller-- and I'm not sure that's worth the trouble. it's not worth it to me, at any rate.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:46 am Reply with quote Back to top

Gizmotron wrote:
you could make hundreds of variant regiments-- the problem is, you need to be able to attach them to HQs.

You can't recruit more than 11 different regimental types from any given building. There are only 12 buttons on the recruitment interface. One of these buttons will always be occupied by the cancel button. Rolling Eyes


What about the airborne divisions? They have airborne and land-based units of the same type seperated and I already have a bunch in both. Is it possible to do the same with other buildings?

In addition, how do you define how many divisions can be attached to a HQ. For example, there are four or five slots for German infantry HQs. How do I increase this number? I tried looking at the various building files, but the only thing I can change is the amout of max units a building provides.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
TheLastSterling
 


Joined: Oct 22, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 12097
Posts: 109

Badges 04/80 Level 013
Badges 04/80 Level 013

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:20 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I have done a couple of mods, but how do you change the names of unit weapons? The achille's 75mm to 17pounder.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:50 pm Reply with quote Back to top

TheLastSterling wrote:
I have done a couple of mods, but how do you change the names of unit weapons? The achille's 75mm to 17pounder.


They are in the individual unit files, in the unit folder. Go to the weapon area, under the performer component area. There you will see something like this:

"#usa_tank_medium_AbilityDefinition_name"

This is the weapon name as it appears in game. To change, get rid of the # and type in your new name, within the quotes.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Germany
VKleist
 


Joined: Apr 21, 2011
Last Seen: Feb 08, 2014
Hits Total: 10545
Posts: 53

Badges 02/80 Level 006
Badges 02/80 Level 006

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:04 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Is it possible to grow the number of units in the game, so since 20 to 30, for example? And in the same sense, could I make the same with the limit buildings?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:22 am Reply with quote Back to top

VKleist wrote:
Is it possible to grow the number of units in the game, so since 20 to 30, for example? And in the same sense, could I make the same with the limit buildings?


For units, the limit is defined in the game folder, in Svars_aa.tgi. Change the economyresourcemax to a higher number.

As for buildings, I haven't found that yet. I assume it must be in the same folder though.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Germany
VKleist
 


Joined: Apr 21, 2011
Last Seen: Feb 08, 2014
Hits Total: 10545
Posts: 53

Badges 02/80 Level 006
Badges 02/80 Level 006

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:16 pm Reply with quote Back to top

theharkonnen wrote:
For units, the limit is defined in the game folder, in Svars_aa.tgi. Change the economyresourcemax to a higher number. As for buildings, I haven't found that yet. I assume it must be in the same folder though.


Thank you for this useful information Very Happy
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
TheLastSterling
 


Joined: Oct 22, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 12097
Posts: 109

Badges 04/80 Level 013
Badges 04/80 Level 013

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:05 am Reply with quote Back to top

I want to change the british medium into a sherman V, but i do not know how to change its shape and colors?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
Gizmotron
 


Joined: May 10, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 20832
Posts: 583

Badges 19/80 Level 058
Badges 19/80 Level 058

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:05 pm Reply with quote Back to top

that's just another name for the Sherman firefly, right?

if so you could just have the medium tank stats replaced with the British Tank CO stats. then, instead of looking into the resource prefix for the Brit medium tank, you could select the view resource prefix for the command tank.

this way you don't have to create new files.

to have the Brits stuck using Grant-Lee tanks until the end of the war always struck me as ludicrous.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
Schwieger
 


Joined: Jul 23, 2011
Last Seen: Dec 12, 2015
Hits Total: 2147
Posts: 49

Badges 02/80 Level 005
Badges 02/80 Level 005

Last Shout: Glad I found this



PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:34 pm Reply with quote Back to top

theharkonnen wrote:
Gizmotron wrote:
you could make hundreds of variant regiments-- the problem is, you need to be able to attach them to HQs.

You can't recruit more than 11 different regimental types from any given building. There are only 12 buttons on the recruitment interface. One of these buttons will always be occupied by the cancel button. Rolling Eyes


What about the airborne divisions? They have airborne and land-based units of the same type seperated and I already have a bunch in both. Is it possible to do the same with other buildings?

In addition, how do you define how many divisions can be attached to a HQ. For example, there are four or five slots for German infantry HQs. How do I increase this number? I tried looking at the various building files, but the only thing I can change is the amout of max units a building provides.


That is in the Regiments folder. There are two files for each HQ - Packed and Unpacked. There should be a line in there that looks like:

[HQComponent]
max_attachments = 6

Change the max_attachments to whatever.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
TheLastSterling
 


Joined: Oct 22, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 12097
Posts: 109

Badges 04/80 Level 013
Badges 04/80 Level 013

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:06 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Is there a blank tech icon a can use?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
Gizmotron
 


Joined: May 10, 2011
Last Seen: Mar 13, 2016
Hits Total: 20832
Posts: 583

Badges 19/80 Level 058
Badges 19/80 Level 058

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:21 pm Reply with quote Back to top

there is no blank icon for tech-- but you could make one from sratch easily enough. it's easier to modify an existing icon so that you don't have to worry about getting the exact shape and size right every time.
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
theharkonnen
 


Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Last Seen: Sep 06, 2014
Hits Total: 13039
Posts: 501
Location: Ohio
Badges 17/80 Level 050
Badges 17/80 Level 050

Last Shout: No Shouts Yet



PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:03 am Reply with quote Back to top

Thanks, Schweiger for the tip.

Anyone know how to spawn a regiment as a specific experience rank?
 
View user's profile Send private message
United States
Schwieger
 


Joined: Jul 23, 2011
Last Seen: Dec 12, 2015
Hits Total: 2147
Posts: 49

Badges 02/80 Level 005
Badges 02/80 Level 005

Last Shout: Glad I found this



PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:54 pm Reply with quote Back to top

In the editor if you double click the regiment a box should come up and you select the experience there.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2008 phpBB Group
:: Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Ported for PHP-Nuke by nukemods.com ::
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Forums ©
(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.09 Seconds

You can syndicate our news using the file backend.php

Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


All logos, trademarks, and GNU Free Documentation in this site are property of their respective owner(s). www.axis-and-allies.com is an independently run community site for the Axis and Allies RTS, and is not affiliated with Atari, Timegate, Gamespy, or Encore Entertainment. Axis & Allies © 2006 Encore Software, Inc. All rights reserved. AXIS & ALLIES is a registered trademark of Hasbro, Inc. GameSpy and the "Powered by GameSpy" design are trademarks of GameSpy Industries, Inc. All rights reserved. GameSpy Arcade is an independent gaming service run by GameSpy. TimeGate Studios and the TimeGate Studios logo are trademarks of TimeGate Studios, Inc. Any comments and forum posts are property of their posters, all the rest ©2007- by www.axis-and-allies.com


:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::